Reviews

Trip Advisor


"Greek food better than I remember"

Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile
Went for a birthday. Mezze tray had excellent assortment of Greek specialties. Smaller menu selections a great idea since appetizer was filling and wanted dessert!
Visited September 2013

"An Above Average Restaurant"

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stopped here for lunch a few weeks ago, and was surprised at the quality of the food. We tried two of their lunch specials, and both were well prepared, quickly served, tasty, and reasonably priced.

The restaurant itself is decorated in the Italian style, and is quite warm and inviting.

Ample parking is provided. Dimitri's is well worth a stop.
Visited February 2013

"Always a great meal"

Reviewed January 23, 2013
This little gem is hidden away on Frederick Road as one nears Ellicott City. Not only is Great food served here, but the best sour beef and dumplings are always available. We went here to celebrate my daughter's birthday. Three of the five diners had the sour beef and described it as incredible. We have also dined here and have always enjoyed the Greek food. The lemon orzo soup is excellent, as is the Greek moussaka dish. We often take out of town friends here to dine and everyone always has a great meal.
Visited January 2013

"Great Happy Hour"

Reviewed August 25, 2012
My husband and I went for a very late lunch/early dinner and realized it was happy hour (3:30 - 6:30). What a bargain! They have an appetizer menu where everything is half price, plus they have drafts for as little as $2 and a FULL glass of house wine for $3.50. We had a couple of appetizers and I had a Greek salad, which was very fresh and delicious. We would definitely go back. We sat out on the back deck which was lovely.
Visited August 2012

"Nice Surprise"

Reviewed June 4, 2012
I had never been to Dimitri's despite living in the area my entire life- my husband took me on a Tuesday evening- it was wonderful- what a nice surprise - I loved the decor and our waitress could not have been nicer. Food was a nice surprise as well. We will definitely be returning.
Visited December 2011

"Best greek food in town"

Reviewed November 10, 2011
this place is a homey litte restraunt directly next to/overlooking Patapsco horse farm and Patapsco state park's woods. It has a deck outside for the warmer days, a seperate bar/grill area for more casual evenings, and a family friendly restraunt side perfect for dates and business lunches. Their Saganaki (flaming goat cheese) is my personal favorite, served with bread, and the maryland crab soup is out of this world! If you catch it at the right time of year, their seasonal martinis include my absolute favorite: Pumkin Pie Martini. I have been told their gyros are excellent as well. They have a broad menu, and cater for small events. The service is outstanding! The owner is a very nice gentleman and the waiters/bartenders are personable and always on point. I go there every Thursday with my mother, and sometimes on sundays for game time for their endless brunch. Any chance I get I reccomend them, and on the Thursdays I cannot go, nothing seems as good :) I could go on about this place for days!
Visited November 2011

Google


A Google User

a year ago-
I've been a Dimitri's customer for many years, and the food and service have always been outstanding. The meze platter is an excellent way to introduce people who've never had Greek food to spinach pies, feta cheese, taramosalata, kalamata olives, tzagiki sauce, and a few other delicacies. You really can't go wrong, no matter what your choice is off of the menu. Family owned and operated, you can tell they care about the food as well as their customers. The old adage of "good people make good food" rings true at this restaurant!

Scott Schopman

6 months ago-
Consistently great every time. The famous Greek salad is a must as well as the gyro. New to the menu, the sausage sub, is absolutely fantastic. Everything is great

YELP


Updated - 6/29/2013

We ate here twice during our recent visit. Catonsville doesn't have that many good restaurants, but I recommend Dimitri's for fresh and tasty food with something for everyone. They even do gluten-free on request, which believe me, is HUGE for Catonsville.

We both had our ever-favorite Greek salad. Their version here is fantastic and the salad is sprinkled liberally with dill and features plenty of romaine lettuce, tomatoes, olives, cukes and crumbled feta. I tried the crab cake one night and the lamb sliders another. Both choices were spot on - cooked perfectly and wonderfully seasoned.

I ran across this place driving down the road, and looked at the yelp reviews, and decided to try it. First off, it is huge! They could probably seat a party of a 100! There was several rooms I saw out of the corner of my eye, that I didn't even enter. Wow....talk about prime real estate!

I had a simple Greek Salad and had some pita with the famous Greek dipping sauce. I also had a House Sangria. I thought everything was pretty good! I look forward to trying a few more menu items.

1/11/2013 - 6 check-ins here

When you move to a new area one of the greatest things is discovering those local restaurants tucked away and off the beaten path. Dimitri's is one of those places!

I've been to Dimitri's Int'l Grille a couple of times now and I've just been absolutely blown away. The first time a buddy and I were just exploring my new stomping grounds here in MD on a random Saturday morning. Heading out of downtown Ellicott City we stumbled on Dimitri's.

You can't really tell that it's a Greek place from outside, but that'll change the second you see the menu. At night it looks like you're driving up on the Moulin Rouge (according to the SO). That first time I just did some simple lunchtime faire. A burger with some killer Greek appetizers.

Tonight I took the SO and the munchkins out and not only was Dimitri's better than I remembered, the rest of the family loved it. Tonight the menu included calamari, a salad that's bigger than I am, the most amazing sweet and sour stew with dumplings, and a couple of different kinds of pasta for the little ones.

The portions are tremendous. The SO and I both got half portions. If you've read my reviews you know that I'm not a guy who believes in leftovers. Even at 1/2 a portion I barely finished it.

The service staff are also great. Very friendly, very professional. And most importantly, very apologetic that they didn't have diet pepsi.

Dimitri's in an independently owned family business that's been around since 1962. No monstrous chain here.

We will definitely be back!

2/14/2013

Best hot wings anywhere! Be sure to eat in the bar, week days before 6pm, as the wings are 1/2 price.

4/14/2013

Great family run restaurant. Few still exist these days.

Older Reviews


Paul Deschamps - News American - May 19th 1978


"Someday this Greek Roadhouse on the road to Ellicott City maybe a national monument. A plaque might read, 'Here 1962 Dimitri Coroneos began an eight year experiment which led to the discovery of the Beef-Ke-Bob."

Laura Rottenburg - The Sun - June 26, 1997


"So this is a Greek Restaurant, Correct? No so fast. Dimitris is the kind of Baltimore Dining spot where you can order mozzerella sticks, a Greek Salad, or a gravy-ladden plat of sour beef and dumplings, Hon. It has sat on busy Frederick road in Catonsville for exactly 35 years, and judging from the satisfied customers...will probably stick around for another 35 or so."

Donna Ellis - Owings Mills Times - June 4th 2003


"Appetizers and entrees were ample and we were all quite satisfied. Maybe next time. And there'll probably be a next time. Dimitri's is the kind of everyday yet quasi-special-occasion eatery that, once found, tempts you to return. Here's a restaurant we won't be passing by all that often anymore...Good, homey transglobal fare with a few exotic touches. Friendly, well-paced, knowledgeable service."

E-Loyalty Program

Receive news, discount offers, and events directly to your e-mail!

Gift Cards

image

Give the gift of food


Click to learn more

Dimitriís International Grille

2205 Frederick Rd,
Catonsville, MD. 21228
Phone: 410.747.1927

Shutterfly Facebook